Tzong-Lin Jay Shieh

  • Title: Professor
  • Telephone: +886-2-3366-5287 (3366-3273)
  • E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Office: Room 336, Heritage Hall of Physics
  • Lab: Smart Memory Materials Lab (Room 305, Heritage Hall of Physics)
  • Education:

    Ph.D., University of Cambridge, 2002

    B.E. Honours, University of Queensland, 1997

  • Research Summary:

    Linear piezoelectric and nonlinear switching behaviors of ferroelectric materials are key factors governing the performance of many sensors and actuators. In SMM Lab, we focus on characterizing the microstructure and multiaxial electromechanical loading response of ferroelectric single crystals, ceramics and thin films, and applying the knowledge to the design of real-life devices such ultrasound transducers, automobile sensors and energy harvesters. Another key research topic of SMM lab is combining tailored perovskite heterojunction with ferroelectric polarization to develop efficient composite photoelectrodes.

  • Research Topics:

    Click to show the full size image.

  • Main experience:

    College of Engineering, National Taiwan University

    Acting Dean, Jan.-Mar. 2023

    Associate Dean, Dec. 2022-

    Seed Teacher for EMI at CoE, Aug. 2022-

    Director, English-Taught IET Bachelor Program, Aug. 2022-

    Department of Materials Science and Engineering, National Taiwan University

    Chair, Aug. 2019-Jul. 2022

    Associate Chair, Aug. 2016-Jul. 2019

    Visiting Scholar, UQ AMPAM, Australia, Aug. 2017-Jan. 2018

    Professor, Aug. 2014-present

    Associate Professor, Aug. 2008-Jul. 2014

    Assistant Professor, Aug. 2004-Jul. 2008


    Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Cambridge, UK, Jan. 2003-May 2004

    Research Assistant, University of Queensland, Australia, Dec. 1997-Sept. 1998

  • Awards:

    2022 Future Tech Award – Highlight Technologies in Sustainable Green Energy and Advanced Materials Category

    2022 Outstanding Service Award, MRS-Taiwan

    Board Member, MRS-Taiwan (2019-present)

    North Region President, MRS-Taiwan (Aug. 2022-present)

    Honorary Member, UQ AMPAM Composites Group (2018)

    Outstanding Young Scholar Research Grant, National Science Council, Taiwan (2011-2013)

    Outstanding Young Member Award, Taiwan Ceramic Society (2010)

    Outstanding EMI Teaching Award, NTU (Academic Year 2021-2022)

    Excellence in Teaching Award, NTU (Academic Year 2007-2008, 2019-2020)

  • Selected Publication: