Mobile menu

Prof. C. Robert Kao received 2020 Functional Materials Division Distinguished Scientist Award from the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS)

會員評等:  / 0

Associate Dean C. Robert Kao (高振宏), Professor of Materials Science and Engineering is awarded the TMS 2020 FMD Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award, and received this honor at TMS 149th Annual Meeting & Exhibition in San Diego on Feb. 26th, 2020. This award recognizes an individual for research excellence in areas related to electronic, magnetic, and photonic materials science, which is the highest honor of the division. Only one recipient will be selected each year, and winners are mostly professor from top universities of the world. The Society originally planned to hold an honor seminar in the name of Prof. Kao at that annual meeting, but Prof. Kao declined the offer in modesty.

TMS (The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society) is a professional society that connects minerals, metals, and materials scientists and engineers who work in industry, academia, and government positions around the world; its history can be traced back to 1871. The Annual Meeting & Exhibition of the Society is one of the international and large-scale academic events in material industry. The annual meeting this year was held in San Diego Convention Center, with more than 4,600 scholars attending.

Prof. C. Robert Kao graduated from the Department of Chemical Engineering, NTU in 1986 and has been teaching for 25 years. His interest of research area is on the thermodynamics and kinetics of materials interactions within packages, and he has been awarded 2012 Fellow of American Society for Metals (ASM) and TMS 2014 Brimacombe Medalist Award. Prof. Kao is currently the Principal Editor for Journal of Materials Research and Editor for Journal of Materials Science – Materials in Electronics. He has given more than 50 keynote and invited speeches in major international conferences, including the prestigious Gordon Research Conferences.



▲ Prof. C. Robert Kao received the award from the Chair of TMS Functional Materials Division